Facebook has around 1.6 billion monthly active users and it has published a post saying “You’re In Control”
Facebook selling your data is what I am seeing in every post from yesterday. Below is the statement on many users Facebook timeline. But is it really true is the big question.
“I don’t give Facebook permission or permission to use my pictures, my information or my publications, both of the past as the future, mine or those where I show up. By this statement, I give my notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, give, sell my information, photos or take any other action against me on the basis of this profile and / or its contents. The content of this profile is private and confidential information. The violation of privacy can be punished by law (UCC 1-308-1 1 308-103 and the Rome statute).
Note: Facebook is now a public entity. All members must post a note like this. If you prefer, you can copy and paste this version.
If you do not publish a statement at least once, you’ve given the tacit agreement allowing the use of your photos, as well as the information contained in the updates of state of profile.
Do not share. You have to copy.”
As you know there are more than 1.6 Billion active monthly users on Facebook and data of such users will generate good revenue for them.
When post your travel plans, advertisers can send you great discounts when you land at your destination. Mobile carriers can give you great deals if you choose their network at your destination and more.
Is Facebook selling your data???
There is nothing to worry! Facebook still stands on their agreement of “you own your content”. If there are any changes in the agreement, you (their precious user) would be notified first.
During registering as a Facebook user, you have accepted terms and conditions, which nobody would read. These terms specify that everything including pictures, status, messages and other content is owned by you unless you make changes in the privacy.
All content will have three privacy options
- Public – Cant be viewed and used by anyone
- Friends only- Can be viewed by friends only
- Friends of Friends – Your friend’s friends can see
- Private – Only you can see
- Specific –Only specific people have access to the content
You have the power to make your content accessible to your choice of people.
As per Facebook Data policy
Facebook Public Feed API
Developers can use Facebook user information from an API. Only the content that is marked as “public” can be used. If the user changes the same content to “private” or deletes it, the developer will be intimated about this change with a tag and they have to remove that information.
Visit here for more information on Facebook API
This news about Facebook selling your data is a hoax and please do not copy and paste statements saying you reserve the right to your content. Enjoy this social media platform and do not worry about your data!
Want to be a guest author? Register Here to share your business knowledge with our readers.